Categories
Digital Ruben Cabenda

Digital: Ruben Cabenda

Ruben Cabenda - I Am, I Was (n.d.), still from animation
Ruben Cabenda – I Am, I Was (n.d.), still from animation

Yet another feature on the artists and works in our upcoming Digital exhibition (April 24-July 4, 2016):

Bio

Ruben Cabenda was born in Suriname in 1989. He attended the Nola Hatterman Art Academy Suriname (2005-2010) and the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, the Netherlands (2010-2014). He has participated in the Gerrit Rietveld Academie’s Storage Space Exhibitions, editions 5, 6, and 7, which were held in 2012. He also participated in the Academie’s Beyond Babylon exhibition (2013). He lives and works in Suriname.

I Am, I Was (detail), n.d. Animation
Ruben Cabenda – I Am, I Was (n.d.), still from animation

About the Work

“My animations are combinations of different ideas, sculptures, drawings or paintings. I draw, paint or make a sculpture about the subject that has my interest. In Photoshop I combine different parts of a drawing, painting or a sculpture, which can lead to new ideas. This is where for me the process of animating starts.”

“At the Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam I got to know people from other countries and because of this I became more interested in where I come from and who I am. I began to investigate the relationship between two religions (Winti and Christianty), because my ancestors descended from Africa and Winti originates from Africa and Christianty was imposed on the slaves (during slavery) by the Europeans. That is why I am taking a closer look at the topic of slavery. Subjects that also have my interest are racism and white privilege. And also how ethnic groups especially in Suriname classify and stereotype each other.”

“My animation I Am, I Was portrays slavery as a big construction, a factory, a machine which steals the identity of the person at the end. And takes or feeds on the strength of the figure (at the beginning of the animation) in the sky.”

Ruben Cabenda - I Am, I Was (n.d.), still from animation
Ruben Cabenda – I Am, I Was (n.d.), still from animation

By nationalgalleryofjamaica

The National Gallery of Jamaica is the oldest and largest public art gallery in the Anglophone Caribbean. It has a comprehensive collection of early, modern and contemporary art from Jamaica along with smaller Caribbean and international holdings. A significant part of its collections is on permanent view. The NGJ also has an active exhibition programme, which includes retrospectives of work by major Jamaican artists, thematic exhibitions, guest-curated exhibitions, touring exhibitions that originate outside of the island, and its flagship exhibition, the Kingston Biennial. The NGJ offers a range of educational services, included guided tours, lectures and panel discussions, and children's art programmes and also operates a gift shop and coffee shop.

Leave a comment