Categories
Christopher Harris Emerging artists Exhibitions Intuitive art Jamaican artists National Gallery of Jamaica Young Talent V

Young Talent V: Christopher Harris

Christopher Harris - The Singer (2009), mixed media on paper

Christopher Harris was born on April 12, 1974. He attended the Guanabo Vale All Age School in the parish of St. Catherine. He started out as an artist in 2000. In his own words: “I used to do sculpture for a year but while around my art teacher [Keith Reece otherwise known as Uhuru] I analysed most of his paintings; I spoke to him more than once that I would like to start painting. He said he didn’t want to make a style for me but wanted me to develop a style for myself. I used to do some farming and from that I bought a paint set and that’s where I started. He lent me photographs of houses… not art pictures but just natural pictures… and I used to do some country houses from it. That’s why at first I did so many ‘house pictures’ because really houses were the first thing I started to paint. I do a wide range of scenes but I am not competing with a camera when you see my art you will know that it is a natural art. As an April person I am a great lover of music so most of my paintings are emulating and portraying music. I don’t plan out my works I just start sketching and when it is complete I name the work based off of the original sketch.”

(Based on an interview with O’Neil Lawrence)

Christopher Harris - Music from the Shell (2009), mixed media on paper

Bookmark and Share

(Based on an interview with O’Neil Lawrence)

By nationalgalleryofjamaica

The National Gallery of Jamaica is the oldest and largest public art gallery in the Anglophone Caribbean. It has a comprehensive collection of early, modern and contemporary art from Jamaica along with smaller Caribbean and international holdings. A significant part of its collections is on permanent view. The NGJ also has an active exhibition programme, which includes retrospectives of work by major Jamaican artists, thematic exhibitions, guest-curated exhibitions, touring exhibitions that originate outside of the island, and its flagship exhibition, the Kingston Biennial. The NGJ offers a range of educational services, included guided tours, lectures and panel discussions, and children's art programmes and also operates a gift shop and coffee shop.

One reply on “Young Talent V: Christopher Harris”

Leave a comment