Categories
Dwane Bailey Jamaican artists Summer Exhibition

NGJ Summer Exhibition: Dwane Bailey

Dwane Bailey

Dwane Bailey - Road to Bamboo Town - NG039
Dwane Bailey – Road to Bamboo Town

As an artist, without the ability to actualize an idea or concept my art would not exist. My work is a constant search for the best way to interpret the ideas that I have about myself and the world we live in.

I do not limit myself to a single medium, style or concept. Inspiration and ideas change. Knowledge changes. Each piece I create is simultaneously an extension of the past, the beauty that exists in the ruins of our ancestors and society, where I live, where I come from and what I’ve learned, it is also a preview of the future, where I am going.

Part of my process before painting is to read as much as I can about the specific set of ruins that am about to recreate on canvas. I merely want to capture, the image with my brushes, or rather, with colourful strokes. I want to give that society life once more with every finished piece of art. I try my best to breathe life into a long forgotten culture, and speak not only for me but also for those who went silent long ago.

By nationalgalleryofjamaica

The National Gallery of Jamaica is the oldest and largest public art gallery in the Anglophone Caribbean. It has a comprehensive collection of early, modern and contemporary art from Jamaica along with smaller Caribbean and international holdings. A significant part of its collections is on permanent view. The NGJ also has an active exhibition programme, which includes retrospectives of work by major Jamaican artists, thematic exhibitions, guest-curated exhibitions, touring exhibitions that originate outside of the island, and its flagship exhibition, the Kingston Biennial. The NGJ offers a range of educational services, included guided tours, lectures and panel discussions, and children's art programmes and also operates a gift shop and coffee shop.

Leave a comment